Daily routine products? –mini version-

I have been keeping the blog in mind these past 2 weeks that I have been on and off the grid. One of the things I wanted to share is a reminder to do small or big things to take care of ones self on a normal daily basis. Here are a few things which help me feel relaxed that are part of my normal routine.

DSC01429 

Epson Salt-

I’ve heard many good things about Epson Salt baths. And I personally find that taking them helps relax my muscles, which in turn helps to lessen the pain or achiness I feel due to past injuries I have which are still part of my daily life. I have heard some people will also add a few drops of lavender oil. I realize some Epson Salt containers have the lavender added, but those are normally much more expensive. Guess I think, if I can make it myself and it is cheaper, easy and fast, why not?
Price wise,Epson Salt, in my opinion anyways, can be expensive if it’s an item one uses on a daily basis. But, I have found that I can get a 4 lb bag from Target, as seen above, for 2.74. Normally other brands are between 4-7 dollars. So I think this is fantastic!

Coconut Oil-
DSC01473_thumb.jpgThe photo wasn’t working out. -Also, I do realize that this is refined and not extra virgin. I know most would recommend unrefined and extra virgin. But, it was on sale, and I needed new shaving oil. So this did not matter to me as much as I knew I would be using it for beauty purposes, and just buy an unrefined extra virgin one another day to use in my food.

Yes, I use it to shave my legs. Also, its wonderful to cook with, from frying to making homemade avocado gelato, etc.

But, back to the story. I highly recommend coconut oil to use instead of shaving cream. It makes ones legs feel super soft and moisturized. And as someone who has very dry skin naturally, this is fantastic!
The down side- It is an oil, and as such can make one’s bathtub slippery. So I would recommend sitting on the side of the tub while shaving, then rinsing your tub afterwards. -I use a light cleaner of my choice and then rinse the bathtub with water.- This way you won’t slip when you step in to take a shower. Seriously, please be careful.

DSC01478 

Lotion- yes, lotion!
Coconut oil also makes for a great moisturizer. Another I recommend is BabyGanics. I use the Eczema Care one, as I at times do have trouble with very dry sick. Normal lotions or moisturizers don’t cut it for me. I really like that it has “No Parabens, Sulfates, Phthalates, Toxins, Mineral Oil, Petroleum, Artificial Colors or Fragrances”. This list is on the back. And it is not tested on animals!

Now one may be thinking…
um…aren’t you 24? Why yes, I am 24. Then what’s with the BabyGanics lotion? Well, while helping my sister with her baby shower registry, I found this line and realized, wow, this is just what I need! And there’s a buy one get one half prize, fantastic! Honestly, I have no complaints about this stuff. It’s great, applies and absorbs easily, not greasy, light feeling, and actually does help me with my dry skin, without irritating it.

DSC01507 

Anyone have hair that is naturally straight, but is super nappy? Raise of hands!
I am one of those people. Have been ever since I can remember. My grandmother would try to brush my hair as I was say 4-5 and had a short bowl type hair cut. I remember it being a very painful event, as my hair knotted easily. So nowadays I normally I use a brush, never a comb. But my hair still gets very tangled without me doing anything to it. While searching for some shampoo, I came across this fellow. And again, yes, this Ology product seems to be marketed towards children. But as I enjoy some of their other product (they also make products for adults and children, as well as household items, all sold at Walgreens) thought I’d try it. And again, it’s free of the bad stuff (i.e.Parabens, Sulfates, Silicones, etc.) and cruelty free. I spray this in my hair after I wash it. And then go about my day as it dries. Once dry I obviously brush my hair. However, I have noticed a HUGE improvement. Very few tangles compared to before, or the knots I have are brushed out more easily. The ingredients are And I personally enjoy the scent, it’s very light and almost peachy scented. They use lavender oil, pansy, and a few other extracts, so I imagine that’s why.

Here are the exact ingredients:

WATER (AQUA) , Hydrolyzed Quinoa Protein , glycerin , Gluconolactone , Sodium Benzoate , Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil , Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract , Viola Tricolor Extract (Pansy) , Yucca Schidigera Extract

DSC01463DSC01468

Bought it from CVS and it heats up in the microwave quickly and the little peas help to mold more easily to the area it’s put on. I can sit with it on my shoulder or neck, back, etc. while I’m watching t.v. or at the computer. It’s nice because it’s a quick pick me up for old injuries. It also looks very cute!

DSC01505 DSC01506

I simply adore these face wipes! I have the cucumber ones 9as seen above), as well as the grapefruit exfoliating ones. On a day where it is cold outside, or your just too tired to wash your face after a long day, these are fantastic! They are also biodegradable and don’t contain Parabens, SLS or Petroleum, organic and are cruelty free. They do have a very light scent. A hint of cucumber with perhaps a pinch of green tea? Which would make sense as those are two of the ingredients. They are also great for taking off make-up. And they are on sale for buy one get one half off, with some of the items have say 33% percent more than normal, as seen above.

Also, I drink copious amounts of water and unsweetened teas. I shall do a tea cabinet review sometime.

Alright…this is probably the most random post one could have…. others most likely have things such as fancy bath balms or chocolate. All really nice things! But this is just what I use. And in all honesty,
it’s always good to take care of ones self. It is so easy to get wrapped up in other things. However,
something small such as a hot bath with Epson salt, a nice coconut oil hair mask -I literally just put it on my hair, if you have very greasy hair, might be a good idea to skip the roots. Then I rinse with shampoo.-, a cup of nice tea, all these things matter in my opinion. Because as cheesey as this is going to sound, you matter! So it’s important to take care of yourself by little things that make your day better.

Also, if anyone reads this, I would appreciate it if you could comment and let me know, what helps you relax?
A certain album, tea, etc.?

Cheers!

